Cheddar and Marmite scones

Marmite scones

Marmite haters, look away now, Marmite lovers follow me! I came across this recipe on the trusted BBC Good Food website only recently, and since I love Marmite I was immediately tempted. The other day at work we were talking about things we’d cooked recently, and I mentioned these scones. Cue gipping noises from my English colleague (a hater) and questioning looks from our French intern. Well, have you ever tried to explain the concept of Marmite to someone who has never come across it before? There is no way of making it sound appetising. A by-product of the brewing process? The brewer at the french brewery we visited last summer looked at us like complete loonies when we asked what he was doing with his yeast extract (throw it away, of course!). So sadly, the cheese and Marmite scones didn’t elicit much enthusiasm from my colleagues but I hope I’ll get more from you. Mum, Dad, you know these Marmite jars you keep on your shelf for decorating purposes? They could be put to good use with this recipe (and also with this one, by the way: https://aghowker.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/cheese-and-marmite-pasties/)

I served these scones as an accompaniment to a salad, to bulk it up a bit. I reckon you could similarly serve these with a vegetable soup to great effect, or as a picnic food.
Ingredients for 8 scones: 450g plain flour plus some for dusting – 1 tbsp baking powder – 3 tsp Marmite – 1 large egg – 250ml milk – 1tbsp sunflower oil or other vegetable oil (I used rapeseed) – 140g grated mature cheddar – 100g full-fat cream cheese
Heat oven to 220C and dust a baking tray with a little flour. Mix the flour and baking powder in a large bowl. Put 1 tsp Marmite in a jug, add the egg and make up to 300ml with the milk. Stir in the oil, then beat really well to dissolve the Marmite.
Tip 85g of the cheddar into a bowl and mix with the cream cheese and remaining Marmite to make a spread. Toss the rest of the cheese through the flour mixture, then pour in the milk mixture and stir quickly with the blade of a knife until it comes together.  Tip onto a lightly floured work surface and gently knead the mix without overworking it.
Lightly roll the dough into an oblong about 20 x 25cm. Spread with the Marmite mixture and roll up from the longest side to create a tight, fat cylinder. Pat the ends of the cylinder to straighten them, then slice into 8 pinwheels and put on the baking tray, patting them to make flattish rounds. Bake for 12-15 mins until golden and cooked.
Leave for a few mins on the tray to allow the cheese centre to harden a little, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.
The verdict: my son wasn’t keen at all, my husband and I loved them! These scones are best eaten on the day you make them, but if you keep them in an air-tight container they’ll keep for 2 or 3 days and will make a lovely addition to your lunchtime salad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everything else!

Leave a comment